Safety Training
HR Compliance
Search By Industry
Course Packages
About Us
Contact Us

What Are The Nine Classes Of Hazardous Materials

This 3 minute safety training video covers: Where can we encounter hazmats, what are the things to remember when you encounter hazmats, what are the warning indicators, what are the importance of hazmat labels, what are the flammable gases, liquids and solids, hazardous materials class labels, proper measurement of hazmat labels and placards. This clip was taken from a full-length training video. Click here to watch the 20 minute full length version.

The Full-Length Version is Available on DVD!

Atlantic Training’s DOT HAZMAT Federal Regulation DVD program created specifically for the Department of Transportation’s HAZMAT Training regulation on Handling and Transporting Hazardous Materials, these products provide the information necessary to comply with Federal regulations eCFR 49, 172.704 Training Requirements. SubPart H

According to CFR 172.704, (Former HM-126F Docket) HAZMAT employees MUST include training on the following topics.

DOT HAZMAT Federal Regulation Training DVD Covers:

Video Transcript

Placards are large signs that are attached to the vehicle or cargo container carrying the hazardous material. It provides basic information about the type of hazard the material composes. This information is communicated in four ways the placard color, the symbol, united nation identification number (UN ID) and the hazard class also indicated by a number. The hazard class describes the category which into each hazard falls. There are nine classes of hazards; explosives are hazards class one, gases are hazards class two and can several different hazards they may be flammable such as acetylene, non-flammable compressed gases such as nitrogen, poison gases like chlorine. Flammable liquids are in hazard class 3, vapors from these liquids may ignite easily under normal conditions.